Full List of Rouhani’s New Cabinet

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani on Tuesday submitted the list of his proposed ministerial picks to the Parliament for a vote of confidence, four days after his swearing-in ceremony.

Iranian Vice President for parliamentary affairs, Hossein Ali Amiri, submitted the list of the proposed ministers to the Parliament’s presiding board on Tuesday.

President Rouhani took the oath of office on Saturday. He had two weeks to submit his new cabinet to the parliament, but drew up the shortlist in only four days.

The lawmakers are now going to assess the programs of the proposed ministerial picks for a week, before an open session for the vote of confidence.

The proposed ministers in the list are as follows, according to the administration’s official website:

  • Minister of Economic Affairs and Finance: Massoud Karbasian
  • Minister of Intelligence: Seyed Mahmoud Alawi
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mohammad Javad Zarif
  • Minister of Communication and Information Technology: Mohammad Javad Azari Jahromi
  • Minister of Education: Seyed Mohammad Bathayee
  • Minister of Health, Treatment, and Medical Education: Seyed Hassan Qazizadeh Hashemi
  • Minister of Labor, Cooperatives, and Welfare: Ali Rabiyee
  • Minister of Agricultural Jihad: Mahmoud Hojjati Najafabadi
  • Minister of Defense and Armed Forces Logistics: Brigadier General Amir Hatami
  • Minister of Justice: Seyed Alireza Avayee
  • Minister of Roads and Urban Development: Abbas Akhoundi
  • Minister of Industry, Mine, and Trade: Mohammad Shariatmadari
  • Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance: Seyed Abbas Salehi
  • Interior Minister: Abdolreza Rahmaini Fazli
  • Oil Minister: Bijan Namdar Zanganeh
  • Minister of Energy: Habibollah Bitaraf
  • Minister of Sports and Youth: Massoud Soltanifar

Half of President Rouhani’s proposed cabinet has remained unchanged compared to his first term.

Only the position of minister of Sciences, Research, and Technology is still falling vacant.

(Source: Tasnim, under Creative Commons licence)

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply